These LA Girl Flat Velvet Matte lipsticks are pretty amazing!

Oh LA Girl, why do you have to give your lipsticks such long names? If you read my review of the LA Girl glazed lip paint (check here if you haven’t) then you know I wasn’t in the least impressed with them. So I didn’t really know what to expect when I was getting these. So anyway I went to a makeup sale and came home with 2 flat velvet matte lipsticks in Va Voom! and Bite Me.

The deal: Introducing our hottest new lip color – Matte Flat Velvet Lipstick. These 26 bold shades are rich in pigment and filled with moisture in a flat velvet finish. With added shea butter to hydrate lips and a soft, smooth application, your lips will feel as gorgeous as they look!

image

Bite me is a warm brown-toned red. It swatches darker than it applies, so I like to layer it to get it as dark as I want. And I KNOW it’s brown toned but I feel like I see some orange in there? It might just be my dislike for orange tones. Anyway.

Va Voom!… I don’t know how exactly to describe it. I’d say it’s a dark plum-purple.

There’s a colour code on the cover of the lipstick. Yes that’s cover. I kept thinking that was the base (probably because Milani colour codes their lipsticks at the bottom)

The packaging is quite blah. Simple black tube which would have been extra plain if not for the pop of colour up there.

image

There’s a clicking sound when you twist it up. I did notice a pattern to it. Click-click-click-nothing-nothing-nothing-click 😂😂😂.  What is it with LA Girl and slanted lipstick tips? In this case, it actually works. I think it makes application quite precise, and I have no problem outlining my cupid’s bow with this.

image

They’re fairly easy to apply. There’s no tugging or dragging. Fully opaque in one swipe but I like to layer for an intense payoff. There’s some transfer, but not so much that it gets over everything. And for a matte lipstick, it’s super lightweight and not in the least drying. It does have the tendency to settle into lip lines after a while.

image

If you’re not a fan of scented lipsticks, you better avoid these cos let me tell you, these STINK. I kid you not. Not a bad smell. It’s floral but it’s so overpowering, it’s quite nauseating. And it takes a full 2 minutes to pass (yes I checked)

Staying power is not phenomenal. It lasts for about 4 hours then it starts to fade, which it does evenly, btw. And va voom! leaves behind a beautiful pinky stain. You’re going to have to reapply after a meal, unless you’ve mastered the art of eating with your lips peeled back so as not to ruin your lipstick.

image

Top: bite me
Bottom: va voom!

I did some comparison swatches with other reds and other plums in my collection

image

Top to bottom: Bite Me, L’Oreal Liya’s Red, Black Radiance Eldorado Red, Mary Kay Really Red, Jordana Modern Matte Style. Clearly I’ve got nothing like it in my collection so it’s a welcome addition

image

Top to bottom: Va Voom!, Milani Sangria, Milani matte Flirty, Avon Portwine, Avon Cranberry. None of my existing colours come close.

You get 0.10oz/3g of product, which isn’t bad, if you ask me. I’ve been getting a lot of use from them, especially va voom!, which is my favourite lipstick at the moment. I got these for 15gh ea, but they usually go for 20gh. Like I mentioned earlier, I got these at a sale so they were relatively cheaper.

Do you need these? Absolutely. Once you look past the smell, they’re pretty freaking awesome. That’s just a small con in a sea of pros.

image

Va voom! Full face shot

image

Bite me

Have you tried the LA Girl Flat Velvet Matte lipsticks? What is your favourite shade?

Love and hugs,

Beverly xx

2 thoughts on “These LA Girl Flat Velvet Matte lipsticks are pretty amazing!

  1. Pingback: Spice Up Your Look with LA Girl Flat Velvet Matte Lipstick! | theFab Avenue

  2. Pingback: Makeup Products Under 50 Cedis | theFab Avenue

Leave a comment