The Garnier Micellar Range 

Hi guys! So micellar waters are all the rage lately, and for good reason. They’re a godsend on days that you’re just to lazy to do your whole nighttime routine (not that you should ever skip it) because it requires no rinsing. Just clean your face with some micellar water and off to bed. Bioderma was the originator of the micellar water trend, with a lot of drugstore brands following suit, providing micellar water at a fraction of the price of Bioderma.

I’ve been using the Garnier Micellar Water for Combination and Sensitive skin (also known as All In One Mattifying in the US) for about 7 months now and I absolutely love it. It gets all my makeup off, even my very black eyeliner and leaves my face feeling refreshed, and depending on how tired I am, I continue with my nighttime routine or hop straight into bed 😂

Garnier makes several micellar waters for various skin concerns and types; an oil infused one for dry skin, one for taking off waterproof makeup, one that is just a regular water that can be used by even those with sensitive skin, a blue one and the one meant for Combination to Sensitive skin, which is the one I’ve had for a while. 

Garnier recently added a cleansing gel wash to their micellar range and I picked it up recently, including the regular micellar water in the recently released bigger size.

Unlike the micellar water which contains no perfume, the gel wash has a slight smell to it which I’m guessing is the grape extract. The micellar gel range isn’t as large as the micellar water range; it only comes in two variants, for Combination and Sensitive skin, which is what I picked up and one for even sensitive skin, which has pink accents. 

Unlike the two micellar water (waters?) that come with flip top covers, the micellar gel comes with a pump. I prefer the pump; you’re able to control how you dispense the product much easier. 

I’ve been using the green micellar water for a while and I really like it. It is not harsh or abrasive on my sensitive skin and I haven’t reacted at all to it which is really great. It takes off all my inky black eyeliner as well as my matte lipsticks with ease. However I don’t really think it mattifies my skin but I don’t really mind because I don’t rely on that to keep my face matte. 

The micellar water for sensitive skin however, I am not a fan of as much as I am of my combination and sensitive skin formula. It doesn’t take off my waterproof makeup as easily and I feel like it stings my eyes a little. It also leaves a little film on my skin which is a little uncomfortable but it’s nothing a final swipeof my combination/sensitive skin or a toner can’t take away. Of the two, I definitely love my first love more, which is pretty obvious from all I’ve said. 

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Gel Wash 

This is a recent release from Garnier. I’m not sure if it’s available in the US but it’s available in the UK. 

Brand claims: New Micellar Cleansing Water technology, now in a rinse off gel. Our all-in-one rinse-off gel wash not only cleanses but also soothes and removes makeup, even on eyes and lips. An easy way to remove makeup and cleanse. 

How to use: Apply to a wet face. Foam up with water and massage gently in circular motions on face focusing on lip and eye area. Rinse off. 

You’d think because I can be pretty lazy about taking off my makeup, I wouldn’t like this but nope! I’m definitely a believer. The gel takes off my makeup so effortlessly. I definitely didn’t expect it to do so. I apply it to my wet face and all my makeup literally melts off. I don’t use it to take off my eye makeup though because I’ve seen a lot of reviews that say it stings the eyes a lot so I go in to take off my eye makeup with the regular micellar water. And unlike the combination/sensitive skin micellar water, this one actually does mattify my skin. 

I use about 2 pumps to cover my face and I massage into my skin. It leaves my face feeling fresh but not stripped. I’m not crazy about the smell but I can deal with it. The micellar gel is nearly taking the place of my micellar water, especially because it is so travel friendly due to it’s small size. 

I will definitely recommend it, if you can find it. It comes in two variants, one for Combination/ Sensitive skin and another one for even sensitive skin, just like the two micellar water I have.

I will repurchase the green micellar water but probably not the pink because I’m not a fan of the film it leaves on my face. The giant 700ml bottle will last a pretty long time because I’ve had my smaller 400ml bottle for over 6 months. 

Get this here: 400ml bottle: Rouge Cosmetics

700ml bottle and Micellar Gel Wash: LeFleur Beauty Essentials 

Have you tried any micellar water? Share your experience with me. 

Thanks for reading! xx

Keep up with me on social media:                    Instagram:    bisfor_beverly                 Twitter:        NoSuchBS_                                  Tumblr:         the Accoustic Soul                                      

2 thoughts on “The Garnier Micellar Range 

  1. I’m still all for my Maybelline Micellar Water. Hahaha! By the way, I’ve read somewhere that one should still properly cleanse the face with a cleanser and water after using a cleansing water. The whole double cleanse thing really is pretty effective and beneficial for the skin…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d like to try the Maybelline version but I have a feeling my 700ml bottle will last me a pretty long time before I need to restock. I still go about my night routine after using the micellar water to make sure my skin is squeaky clean, most of the time lol. Thanks for the advice though Hari xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

