Say Hello to My New Fave: Makeup Forever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation

Hi guys! I haven’t posted in a bit cos my WordPress app had been trippin’ 😑 I’m back with another foundation review. Now you know I’m a bit of a foundation fiend and have amassed quite a bit (see my entire here). My collection is quite large and I do have my holy grail foundation but I tried a few new foundations lately and I’m here to tell you, I’m in LOVE. This foundation has a pretty long name but for the purposes of this review, we’ll just refer to it as Makeup Forever Ultra HD. 

Shade Matching:                                             The foundation comes in 40 shades. Forty! That’s mind blowing. Matching myself was pretty easy. I was pretty sure I would be this shade because that’s the shade one of my favourite YouTubers, Ambra Emerald Eyes uses, and since we’re about the same colouring, I was convinced that would be my shade, so I picked this up in the shade Y535 which used to be 178 Chestnut in the original HD formula. 

Packaging:                                                       I’m definitely a sucker for pretty packaging, and this one hits the right points It comes in a plastic bottle. I like the pop is metal on the bottle. 

These are the claims the brand makes: Created for the very latest high definition technologies of the film and tv industry, Ultra HD advanced formulas look invisible in 4K definition and to the naked eye. The light – diffusing Ultra HD foundation looks natural, makes skin look flawless and feel moisturized. Exclusive 4K Complex guarantees invisible and comfortable coverage. 

My Thoughts:                                                 Makeup Forever got it so right with this foundation. The shade range is divided my undertones, R for Red/Pink undertones and Y for Yellow undertones; I have warmer undertones and the shade is a perfect match for me. It’s one of the most perfect matches I’ve ever had. It is literally my skin in a bottle, that’s how amazing it matches me. It does not run too red or too orange like some foundations do, but a perfect middle ground. SwatchedIt is of a thicker consistency, and blends easily. I’ve only ever applied it using a beauty blender and I love how it applies. It goes on smoothly and doesn’t cling to any patches. I was pretty apprehensive about picking this up because it claims to have a “natural finish” and I’m all about the matte life. I’m happy to report that although it doesn’t claim to be matte, it doesn’t exaggerate my oiliness either so if you’re oily and skeptical about getting this, you have nothing to worry about. The finish is absolutely beautiful; it dries to a beautiful satin-y finish, and it plays well with all of my under eye concealers. Did I mention that it comes with a pump? I really love that it does. The coverage of the Ultra HD foundation is pretty light but buildable to medium. I use 3 full pumps when I want to build to medium but about 2 when I’m keeping it at light coverage. Usually I prefer full coverage foundations, which was another reason why I held off picking this up, because of the lighter coverage but now that my skin is in a good place, I really don’t mind having a lighter coverage. I should also say that it is never cakey. 

I start to get oily around the 5/6 hour mark, which is very impressive, because I’m very oily. I feel like a broken record saying this always but it’s true. The longest I’ve worn it is 17 hours (which I know sounds really long but I went from work to a church function) and it lasted ALL DAY, and I only had to repowder once. I did have to blot twice or three times but that’s not shabby at all, because that’s usually how it is with all my foundations. It doesn’t settle into my smile lines, doesn’t exaggerate my pores and to cap it all off, it photographs absolutely beautifully, even in flash photography. Here’s a picture I took wearing the Ultra HD foundation. It matches me extremely well, which is so hard to get in a foundation. It’s an everyday foundation for me, because I don’t really need much coverage when I’m going to work but I could definitely see myself rocking this foundation when I’m going out, especially if I need to look snatched and there’s going to be flash photography. The Ultra HD foundation is was definitely not love at first sight but now I love it so much and would definitely recommend it and repurchase when I run out (although I don’t see that happening soon because I have so many foundations). 

Get it here: Your Treasure GH

Let me know if you’ve tried this foundation, and your experiences with it. 

Thanks for reading! 


Keep up with me on social media:                   Instagram:  bisfor_beverly                                Twitter:       NoSuchBS_                                    Facebook:   theFab Avenue                              Tumblr:       the accoustic soul                   

 

13 thoughts on “Say Hello to My New Fave: Makeup Forever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation

  1. You should check out Nyma Tang on YT! She is a dark skinned African American girl and when I mean dark, I mean gorgeous dark choco brown skin! And she always tries out the darkest shade of foundation from certain lines and her channel is very geared towards dark skinned people…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve watched and liked a few of her videos but she’s way, wayyy darker than me so I can’t really match myself off of her. I do think her skin is absolutely beautiful, such gorgeous melanin !

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

