Quick Review: Urban Decay De-slick Mattifying Powder

Happy new month guys! It’s amazing how fast this year has been! One more year then we say goodbye to 2016, whoa 😱 I also remember that sometime last year, I started my blog. I can’t believe it’s been almost a year already. So anyway I’m coming at you with another review, and this time it’s on the Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder. 

It comes in a beautiful purple compact and i have to admit that that was one of the main things that attracted me to the product. You have to admit that it’s absolutely beautiful. It is decorated with a flower motif. I’m glad Urban Decay changed the packaging cos previously it also included skulls on the packaging. 

What it is: This lightweight pressed powder blots oil and stops shine without messing up your makeup. Shiny can be really good (when it comes to expensive jewelry, for example) or really bad (when it comes to your T-zone). To curb shiny skin and keep the attention on you for all the RIGHT reasons, use De-Slick, our cult-favorite, shine-stopping pressed powder.

Urban Decay describes it as a pale lavender but it looks stark white in the pan. When you open it up, there’s a sizable mirror and powder push with a pleather back that sticks to the mirror a lot. There’s also a plastic film that separates the powder puff from the powder. What it essentially is is rice paper compressed into a pan. Rice paper is known for its absorbent and mattifying qualities and that’s what this is supposed to do, take away shine and keep your face matte. 

From my arm swatch, you can see just how white it is. However it blends into my skin so well. Best of all is that it doesn’t leave a white cast, which is great. I use it to set my face using a large fluffy brush. I swirl my brush into the compact, tap of the excess and set my whole face, concentrating on my t-zone which is the oiliest part of my face. It can also be used for touch – ups on the go. Initially I hated to use the powder puff it came with but I do now. I blot the shine on my face then take a bit of product with the powder puff then gently press it into my face. However I find that the powder puff is extremely flimsy and I really don’t see it lasting that long. 

I do notice that when I first apply it, my face does look a little light but after a few minutes, it does settle then that goes away. You get 11 grams of product which isn’t too shabby. The compact is sturdy so you don’t have to worry about it breaking when you throw it into your bag. I’ve dropped this a few times 😥 and it doesn’t snap shut as tightly as it used to anymore. In the beginning it closed a little too tightly and I had a bit of trouble opening it up. 

This does mattify my face but I find that the effect isn’t long lasting. Honestly from reviews I had read, I was expecting to be matte for hours and hours but the most the matte effect lasts is about 2 hours, which is pretty disappointing to me, because I had such high hopes in this, especially considering how much it is ($32). 

So no, I do not recommend this product because I’m sure there are a lot of others that would work as well or even better for a cheaper price. Yes it is beautiful to look at and whenever I whip it out of my bag to touch up my face, people admire it but it’s really not worth the money so when it finishes I will NOT be repurchasing it. I don’t find myself reaching for it much and will definitely be on the lookout for a cheaper alternative. 

xx 

2 thoughts on “Quick Review: Urban Decay De-slick Mattifying Powder

Leave a Reply

