Maybelline SuperStay

Hi guys!

Doesn’t it seem like our obsessions change at a point in time? Like I was (and still am) a die hard lipstick fanatic. Now my obsession has changed to foundations. I am obsessed with finding the right foundation. I see the word “matte” in a foundation and my heart starts to sing. Anyway back to the topic. So I finally tried the Maybelline superstay. I don’t know why it took me so long to. Correct me if I’m wrong but I think it’s about to be discontinued?

As with all my foundation posts, I’m going to review this based on coverage,  finish and staying power.

For reference I have combination to oily, acne prone skin with a super oily t-zone and hyperpigmentation, so I prefer full coverage foundations.

image

This little guy claims to have micro – flex formula for 24hr wear. Who wears their foundation that long?! Now can we talk about how miserable the shade range for dark skin is? I got this in the shade cocoa which is the darkest in the range and it’s not even that dark! So if you’re darker than I am, sadly there’s no match for you which I think really sucks.

The claims:
• Withstands heat, sweat and humidity
• No transfer: won’t rub off
• Flexible, breathable, all day comfort
• Oil free – non pore clogging
• Suitable for all skin types

image

Right off of the bat I should say this this DEFINITELY transfers. I honestly don’t know why Maybelline claims it doesn’t. And I was finally looking forward to hugging my boyfriend without leaving brown stains on his shirt but sadly that wasn’t the case. Sorry boo! 😂

COVERAGE:

Maybelline claims this is a medium coverage but this is easily a full coverage foundation to me. The level of coverage in one layer is mind blowing. I don’t even need to add a second layer and I definitely do not need a concealer after. However I have noticed that it does turn a hair darker when it oxidizes, but thankfully it doesn’t make me turn orange. It does tend to look a little mask-y when you layer too much so I’d be careful about that.

image

It seems to be neutral but leans more yellow, and so it matches me perfectly. It makes me realise even more just how neutral my CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous is.

image

SuperStay cocoa, Outlast Stay Fabulous soft sable, Ready Set Gorgeous tawny

FINISH:

Dries to a complete matte finish which I absolutely love. It doesn’t dry too fast but definitely faster that my CoverGirl foundations. It’s also of thicker consistency than my CoverGirl foundations. However it spreads and blends easily, no matter the tool you use to blend your foundation. I did find that a sponge provides better coverage compared to my beloved expert face brush.

image

If there’s one this I absolutely hate about this foundation, it’s the lack of a pump. Why would you do that Maybelline? This causes major wastage, if you end up pouring more than you need.

STAYING POWER:

I tried this in different situations to test the staying power, and each time I was impressed. I wore it without a setting powder, without a primer and with both a primer and a setting powder. It definitely lasts much longer with both the primer and setting powder, but thing is no matter how much I blotted, I still looked made up. I could have easily reapplied my setting powder and I would look freshly made up. Oil control was better managed when I used a setting powder. Without setting with a powder, I feel my nose get shiny by the 4 hour mark which is pretty impressive.

IN SUMMARY:

This is definitely a winner in my book, and I highly recommend that you try it, if you haven’t already. I am going to get backups just in case it’s really going to be discontinued! Definitely Holy Grail status to me!

Have you tried this? Share your experiences and Holy Grail foundations with me!

Beverly xx

One thought on “Maybelline SuperStay

  1. Pingback: Makeup Products Under 50 Cedis | theFab Avenue

Leave a Reply

