Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation Review

I got this foundation after a friend did, and it made her look flawless. Technically it isn’t mine, it’s my mum’s but you know 😉

image

It’s a medium coverage foundation, and I got it in the shade Bronze 600, which was a good enough match for both me and my mum. We’re about the same colouring.

It’s supposed to be for normal to oily skin but this foundation did not work for me at all. Before I proceed, I should state that I have normal to combination skin, with a super duper oily t-zone. My chin breaks out in perspiration minutes after I apply my makeup, and my nose gets shiny easily too. I don’t have any dry patches but I have acne scarring, and acne prone skin and so what I look for in a foundation are: coverage, finish and staying power. So I’m going to review this based on these three criteria.

COVERAGE:

This is a medium coverage foundation, and so of course it’s not going to cover all my acne scars, but it evened my skin well enough. I did have to go in later with a concealer, but I didn’t mind doing that. However I realised that after using a powder, my face looked green. I have no idea why. I tried applying just the foundation and I didn’t notice that green tinge as much, so I guess I’ll have to attribute it to the powder. It’s impossible to layer, because it tends to look cakey when I do, which is not a pretty sight. 3/5

image

image

Top swatched; bottom blended

FINISH:

So as this is meant for normal to oily skin, I expected it to have a matte or at  least a semi-matte finish. But I found it to be straight up oily and a powder is definitely needed to set this, else it runs and gets everywhere. I tried a trick I saw on YouTube (can’t remember the exact vlogger) and blotted the excess with a tissue before using a powder, and that helped a bit. 2/5

image

Contains 29ml of product.

STAYING POWER:

Staying power of this foundation sucks. Oh my gosh, you have no idea just how much. It transfers like crazy and gets absolutely everywhere. Hasn’t Mary Kay heard about waterproof foundations? After barely 10 minutes of use, I feel perspiration on my chin, and my nose gets oily by an hour of wear. It might be that I live in an extremely hot country, but then again I used it when it rained and my nose got oily within 2 hours of wear. I have to blot and reapply powder so many times during the day, it’s exasperating. Ugh. 2/5

OVERALL: 7/15 don’t waste your time with this

IN SUMMARY:

This foundation is just not worth getting. Unless you have dry skin and are looking for a normal skin-like foundation, else if you’re as oily as I am, stay as far away from this as possible. It does nothing for oil control, although it explicitly states that on the tube.

I am definitely not repurchasing this. I’m better off investing in a waterproof, long-wearing foundation, and this is definitely not it.

What is your favourite foundation? Any recommendations for oily skin? Let me know!

Love and hugs,

Beverly xx

Leave a Reply

