Nicka K Professional Airbrush Blending Sponge | First Impressions

I don’t know why I waited so long to get a beauty sponge of any sort. I have been using my fingers to apply my foundation for as long as I can remember (not so hygienic, I know) before I made the transition to flat foundation brushes. So when I happened upon this, I knew I had to give it a shot

image

It’s a curvy sponge that comes in a transparent package. And it’s pink! How could I say no to that?

It’s pretty dense and firm, unlike the beauty blender, which I know to be pretty soft. On the box (can I call it that? Let’s just call it that for the purposes of this review) it says to wet it until it expands, then apply your makeup with it. I submerged it in a LOT of water, but I didn’t notice it enlarge so much. In fact I didn’t see it change size at all.

image

Here it’s damp, after I squeezed all the water out of it. So anyway after I squeezed, I poured a bit of my foundation on the back of my hand and dipped the sponge into it and used it to spread it on my face. Because it’s so dense, it felt like I was slapping myself with it. Haha. However I found that it did a pretty good job of blending, and I was left with very even coverage.

image

It’s pretty isn’t it? I use the bottom part to apply my foundation, and the pointed top under my eyes and it works well. As to getting an airbrush finish, I can’t really say.

It washes easily too. I rub some Olay soap in my palm till it formed a lather, then rubbed the sponge in it and held it under water until it run clear. There was no chance of colour too.

I would recommend this if you’re starting out and are looking for a cheap sponge to apply your foundation or concealer with. It gets the job done well enough. As to whether I would repurchase, hmm. Probably not, but that’s only because I’d like to get other beauty sponges to try out, and not a comment on its performance.

What is your favourite way to apply your foundation? Have you tried this beauty sponge? Share with me!

Love and hugs,

Beverly xx

Leave a Reply

